I see them on my way home, how I hate to be alone.

December 16, 2010

And if you give a damn, take me baby. Or leave me.

Everything that drains you, or makes you tired.
Everything that tells you, ‘Give up. You’re not worth it. Sink into the ground where you belong.’ The voices in your head eventually subside.

It’s my birthday in 4 days.
It might be hard for some people. They’ll have to deal with a change in their life.
Though, it won’t be that big of a change. I never made much of a difference.
But it will be one of two changes.

They will either have to deal with my death, or with my going off to find life.
As of late, though I feel drained and dead, I’m finding myself wanting to live. I’m finding myself looking at old couples and smiling. Or looking at a laughing child, and laughing back. When a few months ago, I would have turned away and frowned. I’m finding beauty in things I once looked at with such hatred.

I want to live.

There’s only us, there’s only this. Forget regret, or life is yours to miss.
No other road, no other way, no day but today.

4 Responses to “I see them on my way home, how I hate to be alone.”

  1. Ryan said

    I don’t know if this is just my browser, but a few of the paragraphs look as though they’re squished. Like the “he’s a great guitarist” paragraph…there doesn’t seem to be a space between it and its above paragraph.

    Anyway, your writing style is beautiful. I’m a writer myself and have critiqued a lot of work (probably a thousand or so short stories) and this is very unique.

    Are you a photographer? All of your pictures are beautiful…I especially like the ones with fire. I’m a pyromaniac, fyi.

    Beautifully done – you’ve earned yourself a subscription and a Like.

    • shannondotjpeg said

      Must be the browser D: I’m using Chrome and the spaces are fine. Woops.
      And thank you, it really means a lot to me. No, the picture’s I post aren’t taken by me unless stated otherwise, however I am studying photography at school. (:
      It’s nice to meet a fellow pyromaniac, I love fire.
      Thank you so much, your opinion means a lot to me. (:

  2. Danniel said

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    I read this yesterday but I wanted to wait until today because I think today is your birthday but I’m not sure because if I remember correctly you’re in Australia but I’m not sure how the time works there, but I think today is your birthday but if it’s not than I’m sorry 😦

    But anyway I hope you have a great day 🙂 or had a great day…or whatever…you know what I mean…I think you do…do I know what I mean? I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

